
Delivery of 1 gigawatt-hour of U.S.-made storage batteries is due by the end of 2026 after Samsung SDI KRX006400 announced a second supply agreement with Alpha Omega Power on Monday. The order brings contracted supply for this customer to 1.5 gigawatt-hours, although the Oct. 26 announcement does not disclose its value.
Alpha Omega Power, a utility-scale storage developer and independent power producer, is the buyer. The companies did not disclose a price per megawatt-hour, payment schedule or contractual supply term in their announcement.
The buyer plans to use the batteries for large-scale power projects scheduled to begin construction in 2027 in the WECC and ERCOT power markets. Its joint release with Samsung SDI does not identify individual sites, their storage capacities or commissioning dates.
The earlier supply contract was signed in late 2025. The combined contracted volume covers this customer alone; the announcement does not give Samsung SDI's companywide storage order book or a schedule for recognizing revenue from the agreements.
Samsung SDI said on Oct. 26 it was discussing further supply agreements with other U.S. customers. It did not identify those customers or give volumes for those discussions.
"This second agreement strengthens our domestic supply chain supporting the next generation of energy infrastructure," Alpha Omega Power chief executive Paul Choi said in the release.
Indiana Cells Are Due Before Construction Starts
Samsung SDI is a South Korean battery and electronic-materials manufacturer. Its Michigan-based subsidiary, Samsung SDI America, signed the agreement and will supply Samsung Battery Box 1.7, an integrated storage system using nickel cobalt aluminum batteries.
All cells and modules will be manufactured at the StarPlus Energy plant in Kokomo, Indiana. The Oct. 26 release puts their delivery deadline at the end of 2026, ahead of the buyer's planned construction starts.
Samsung SDI says the new system delivers 17 per cent higher energy density than its predecessor, Samsung Battery Box 1.5, while retaining the same 20-foot footprint. That comparison is the manufacturer's claim in the announcement.
The company also says the system is designed for 25 years of continuous use. It describes algorithms for early anomaly detection and battery-life prediction, alongside technology that injects fire-extinguishing agents directly into individual battery modules.
The release cites UL 9540, a safety standard for energy storage systems, and NFPA 855, the installation standard for stationary storage. It does not identify the projects' permitting authorities or give interconnection deadlines.
The wider storage supplier field includes Invinity Energy Systems plc LONIES OTCMKTSIESVF, which manufactures modular vanadium flow batteries. Invinity's Oct. 22 regulatory announcement set out a conditional £25 million equity fundraising, subject to shareholder approval on Nov. 11.
Read more: Invinity Energy Systems sets £25M equity raise at 10p a share
For the Samsung SDI agreement, the next stated milestone is delivery of the Indiana-made cells and modules by the end of 2026. Alpha Omega Power's planned construction starts follow in 2027; the announcement gives no date for first electricity discharge.
Ines Halvorsen






