
Completion of a US$49 million export-financing package was announced on Thursday by FuelCell Energy, Inc. NASDAQFCEL, supporting equipment deliveries to South Korea. The final tranche totals approximately US$24.7 million before closing and transaction fees, according to the company's Oct. 29 release.
The financing supports deliveries to Gyeonggi Green Energy, or GGE. Neither Thursday's announcement nor the original financing release identifies the legal borrower or gives a loan maturity, interest rate or repayment schedule.
FuelCell says the transaction was structured under the Export-Import Bank of the United States' loan guarantee programme and arranged with Private Export Funding Corporation. The announcement does not disclose the extent of FuelCell's guarantees, collateral obligations or recourse exposure.
FuelCell shares closed at US$12.38 on Nasdaq at 4 p.m. EDT on Oct. 28, according to NASDAQFCEL. That close preceded Thursday's financing announcement and cannot measure the market's response to it.
EXIM's board approved the package on June 23, according to FuelCell's June 29 announcement. That release projected approximately US$22 million of first-tranche net proceeds after financing fees, customary expenses and reserves.
The Oct. 29 completion announcement does not quantify the second tranche's net proceeds after fees or provide a reconciliation of total cash available from the package. The US$49 million headline therefore cannot serve as a measure of unrestricted cash added to FuelCell's balance sheet.
The completed package provides financing support for the Korean equipment deliveries, but the announcements do not allocate funding between manufacturing costs, reserves and other uses. They also do not disclose the equipment contract's payment schedule or explain how loan repayments align with customer receipts.
Read more: IREN Limited completes US$363M refinancing for operating AI equipment
Connecticut Manufacturing Supplies The Korean Site
FuelCell manufactures its platforms in Torrington, Connecticut. Its Oct. 29 release says the financing supports five blocks rated at 2.8 megawatts each, while the GGE site has nearly 60 megawatts installed and has operated continuously for 13 years.
FuelCell said on Oct. 29 that more than 90 per cent of its supply chain is sourced from the United States. The transaction follows EXIM-supported financings completed in 2024 and 2025, according to Thursday's release.
The company supplies on-site fuel-cell power systems for utilities, industrial facilities and other customers. Thursday's announcement concerns financing for those Korean deliveries; it does not announce an additional equipment order.
"EXIM can be an important strategic bridge between American manufacturing capacity and global demand," FuelCell chief financial officer Matt Latino said in Thursday's release.
South Korea has also attracted financing for competing fuel-cell suppliers. Bloom Energy NYSEBE announced on Nov. 7, 2024 that Korea Development Bank led financing for an 80-megawatt installation. Bloom said it would supply fuel cells and lead equipment management and maintenance.
FuelCell's June announcement targeted October for the second disbursement, a financing milestone now completed. The Oct. 29 release does not state whether all five blocks have shipped or provide shipment, handover or commissioning dates.
Ines Halvorsen






